My summer part 2: Barcelona

Barcelona

This year has seen something of a turn-around in my life.. The theme? Doing exciting things I never thought I could. Exciting things including wearing hats, red lipstick, graduating university, Instagram selfies, learning guitar, blogging (of course), and… travelling alone… (*gasps!*) The latter of which has probably had the biggest impact on my life (if not instagram and university).

I won’t tell you the whole story, but it happened in one impulsive instant. I had some spare days in August and so instead of accepting homelessness, I accepted the serious dent in my bank balance, and Barcelona.

I had three days to explore the city that has escaped my reach so many times (another story…) So I grabbed Daisy, and my trainers, my camera and a map, and walked for miles, spoke Spanish, drank beer with travelers alike on the sand at 3 am, learned about Picasso and Gaudí and Dalí, chased parakeets, accidentally became part of a bongo procession and fell in love with the most colourful city I’ve seen, in all senses of the word…

CIMG8180

CIMG8214

Escriba– a cafe type sweetie shop, they cut candy in the store right in front of your eyes!

CIMG8169

CIMG8456

My first stop was to La Boqueria, as a lover of colour, and a lover of markets, it was my heaven….

CIMG8190

CIMG8198

CIMG8208

My poor little camera however, was not so happy..catedral! nice.

CIMG8241

After wandering round the city a little, I took the metro up towards Parc Guell. This was another place I knew I wanted to visit, and I wasn’t disappointed. It was the highlight of my trip. I was so overwhelmed by its awesome-ness, I genuinely shed a tear… don’t judge. This place had escalators! Outside escalators!!

CIMG8251

CIMG8257

CIMG8297

What i wouldn't give.....

CIMG8313

CIMG8386

CIMG8388

And onto another Gaudi masterpiece! The great unfinished, Sagrada Familia…CIMG8434It was super impressive.. despite the queue to get in (I had a chair-mirage 45 mins in and almost sat on a person) it was worth it, so much more interesting than I expected! Again, silly emotional in-awe-of-the-beautiful-world-type tears were shed..
CIMG8469

CIMG8513

CIMG8533

CIMG8619

CIMG8676

By the end of the three days my feet were sore, shoulders sunburnt and my liver slightly less healthy, but it was an amazing trip. So off to Mallorca I went…

x

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. So inspiring! Loved reading about your adventure 🙂

    Reply
  2. Amazing post and lovely photo’s! I’ve always wanted to go to Barcelona! xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

