Bumble speaks: Date night!

So the other day, I decided, spur of the moment like, to meet up with a friend. Totally fine, casual meeting up with a good mate. Until mum goes “what if it’s a date??!!!”

Immediately, panic ensues. WHATDOIWEARONADATE?!

I broke up with my boyfriend of 1 and a bit years a week or two ago, but before then, I hadn’t gone on an actual date in forever. It definitely still seems like something people do on F.r.i.e.n.d.s and not in real life. So naturally, with a mere half hour to decide how to run this mother, my teeny rack of clothes I brought home from uni appeared like a sea of tricky decisions.

1. I was aware that I definitely needed to look like a girl, in case he got all confused: no good for nobody. So that was a good starting point, a dress perhaps?

I wanted to be comfortable in whatever I was wearing, and since the day would inevitably involve seaside dog walking, I knew I also had to be outdoors-appropriate.

..and..

3. ABOVE ALL I needed to be relaxed.

So, after much deliberation and unwelcome comments from my concerned mother “are you sure you’re wearing make-up?”, this is what I came up with..

CIMG7138

Apparently I love tying up shirts. This one is a semi-DIY on my Grandma’s silk Viyella number.

yy

Perhaps not what most people would consider date clothing, but as it turned out (I was right about the walking) I reckon I did pretty well..

m CIMG7142 yCIMG7145

I should stress, my Mum’s reaction was definitely an over-reaction, but the whole experience got me thinking, are date-worthy clothes different to normal clothes? And how do we identify these items? What part of our education taught us how to pick out clothes suitable for wooing activities?!

Well I’ve thought about it a lot, and I feel I still don’t have the answer, so I might have to do a follow-up post on this subject.

So, as homework for my readers, any opinions you have on what makes a perfect “date-worthy” outfit definitely let me know! For now though, my search continues…

Katie x

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. this Bumble speaks: Date night! | Bumble& is sort of a lot like my blog I reckon that this area of interest is indeed turning into universal

    Reply
  2. Great casual look , loving the printed blouse !

    XX Luba

    Summery look with hat in my post today

    http://www.well-living-blog.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

